Comparison
Athena vs AssistBPO
Athena vs AssistBPO is a comparison of two full-time, employed assistant models. Athena publishes one dedicated executive assistant at $3,000 a month with a 90-day commitment, a partnership manager and delegation training. AssistBPO staffs a named assistant, backup and team lead across executive, front-desk, support and back-office roles in your hours, with phones included.
Β· Reviewed by Nimra Khalid
- Checked on their own site
- Dated and sourced
- No ratings or rankings

Overview
Athena sells a single product: one dedicated, full-time executive assistant who is vetted, trained, device-equipped and employed by Athena, matched by algorithm, onboarded in 1 to 2 weeks, and supported by a partnership manager and a delegation training library. The published price is $3,000 a month after a 90-day initial commitment, then month to month; third-party roundups in 2026 also cite a $3,600 option tied to shorter commitment. The pitch is built for founders who want to delegate deeply to one person. AssistBPO also employs its assistants and also assigns one named person, but it staffs a wider set of desks, from executive admin to reception, customer support, sales follow-up and data entry, and every desk includes a trained backup and a team lead. Its staff work from a second office in Pakistan on shifts matched to US, UK, Canadian or Australian hours, and they take live calls. The rows below use Athena's pricing page as checked in September 2026.
What is the difference between AssistBPO and Athena?
The same ten rows on every comparison page, so two providers can be read against each other without re-learning the layout.
| AssistBPO | Athena | Source | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Model | Employed assistant on a full or half shift, with a trained backup and a team lead who runs a weekly review | One dedicated, full-time EA employed by Athena, with a partnership manager and delegation training | athena.com/pricing, Sep 2026 |
| Where assistants are based | Group's second office in Pakistan, scheduled to your time zone | Not stated on the pricing page; 2026 third-party reviews cite the Philippines | athena.com/pricing and Wishup 2026 roundup, Sep 2026 |
| Pricing as published | Published rate card, plus a costed staffing plan within 1 business day | $3,000 a month, monthly or annual billing; Report Β§6 lists $3,000 to $3,600 depending on commitment | athena.com/pricing and Report Β§6 roundup, Sep 2026 |
| Dedicated vs pooled | Dedicated; pods of 3 to 10 with a lead for phone and support desks | Dedicated, one EA per client | athena.com/pricing, Sep 2026 |
| Phones and live answering | Included; receptionist, intake and support agents answer in your name | Not stated; the product is executive assistance | athena.com/pricing, Sep 2026 |
| Hours and time zones | US Eastern to Pacific, UK hours; AEST shifts and 24/7 desk on request | Full-time; time zones not stated | athena.com/pricing, Sep 2026 |
| Countries served | United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Australia | Not stated | athena.com/pricing, Sep 2026 |
| Replacement or backup as published | Backup trained on your account covers leave; team lead handles replacement per the staffing plan | Partnership manager addresses concerns; "we will partner you with a different Athena EA if things don't improve" | athena.com/pricing, Sep 2026 |
| Contract and minimum term as published | Agreed in the staffing plan; 80 or 160 hours a month per desk | 90-day initial commitment, then month to month; onboarding 1 to 2 weeks | athena.com/pricing, Sep 2026 |
| Industries and tools | Industry pods for healthcare, home care and NEMT, transport, accounting, real estate, legal and e-commerce; works in your CRM, phone system and practice software | Founder and executive focus; industries and tools not stated | athena.com/pricing, Sep 2026 |
Athena facts as published on the dates shown. The AssistBPO rate card is published too, from $400 a month, and the staffing plan is what sets where on it you land. Spotted a change? Tell us and we update the row with a new date.
Who should choose AssistBPO, and who should choose Athena?
Choose AssistBPO if
- You need more than an executive assistant: a receptionist, support agent or back-office desk as well
- The assistant must answer and transfer calls for your business
- You want a backup and a team lead included, not only a manager to escalate to
- You operate in UK, Canadian or Australian hours, or need a 24/7 front desk
Choose Athena if
- You want one full-time EA and a structured program that teaches you to delegate
- A published monthly price and a 90-day commitment suit your planning
- You value algorithmic matching and a partnership manager over a team model
- Your workload is executive support rather than customer-facing operations
How does AssistBPO work?
A discovery call, then a named assistant proposed within 72 hours. That person works your hours inside your tools through your own user accounts, sends an end-of-day report, and is covered by a trained backup when they are off. A team lead runs a 20-minute weekly review with you and scores calls and tickets monthly. Assistants are employees of the group, never freelancers, and you never co-employ them. Plans start at $400 a month for 40 hours, at $10 an hour, and rates improve as you add assistants. Get a staffing plan within 1 business day.
Keep comparing
- Athena alternativesOther providers people weigh against Athena
- Time etc vs AssistBPOPremium onshore agency
- Zirtual vs AssistBPOPremium onshore agency
- Virtalent vs AssistBPOPremium onshore agency
- SmartPA vs AssistBPOPremium onshore agency
- All comparisons, by familyIncluding the rest of the premium onshore agencies
What this desk actually does
- A named executive assistant in your hoursService
- Dedicated virtual assistant services for the work that eats your dayService
- Executive & admin deskThe desk this sits on
- What moves a staffing planThe rate card, and the six things that move a plan off it
Frequently asked questions
Is AssistBPO cheaper than Athena?
Plans depend on hours, desks and coverage. Get a staffing plan within 1 business day. Athena's published price is $3,000 a month for one full-time executive assistant, with a 90-day initial commitment, as of September 2026; Report Β§6 records a $3,000 to $3,600 range across commitment options. AssistBPO does not publish a rate card, and the Report Β§3 benchmark for managed remote assistants is $640 to $2,400 a month full-time. Put your plan next to Athena's page and compare hours, phone coverage and backup, not just the total.
Which is better for phones, Athena or AssistBPO?
Athena's product is executive assistance and its pricing page does not mention answering calls. AssistBPO comes from a call-center background and staffs receptionists, intake specialists and support agents who answer, transfer and return calls in your name during your business hours, with an after-hours desk on request. A founder who mostly needs inbox, calendar and research work will find either model workable; a practice, agency or trades business whose phone rings all day should test AssistBPO on a live line first.
Both employ their assistants. What else is different?
Scope and structure. Athena delivers one person, backed by a partnership manager and a training library that coaches the client on delegating. AssistBPO delivers a desk: one named assistant, a backup who covers leave, and a team lead who runs a 20-minute weekly review and scores calls and tickets monthly. Athena has a published 90-day minimum and a single price; AssistBPO builds a staffing plan around the hours, desks and coverage you need. Athena is deliberately narrow; AssistBPO is deliberately broad.
Does AssistBPO offer delegation coaching like Athena?
Not as a formal program. Athena bundles a delegation training library and a partnership manager, which is a real advantage for a founder who has never had an assistant. AssistBPO's equivalent is the daily rhythm: a start-of-day check-in, a task stream, and an end-of-day report listing what was handled, what is waiting on you and tomorrow's plan, plus the weekly review with the team lead. Many owners find the report does the teaching, but if you want structured coursework, Athena publishes it.
How long does it take to start with each provider?
Athena publishes a 1 to 2 week onboarding after matching. AssistBPO runs a discovery call and proposes a named assistant within 72 hours, then onboards the person into your tools using your own user accounts, with the backup shadowing the first weeks. Both timelines assume you can share access, scripts and a task list promptly; in practice the client's readiness sets the pace more than the provider's. Ask each provider what they need from you on day one.
Sources
Ask an AI assistant to summarize this page
Opens the assistant with a prefilled prompt so you can check our claims against the page yourself.
Next step
See how a dedicated assistant compares on your numbers
Tell us the hours, the desk and the tools. A named person replies within 1 business day with a staffing plan and a plain answer on whether we are the right fit, or who is.
Or call +1-657-777-0006 during US, UK or Australian business hours, or hear our demo receptionist.
- A named assistant proposed within 72 hours
- Employed, screened and managed staff, never freelancers
- Your hours, your tools, your data